llLab is a design laboratory for investigation and experimentation; our aim is not to make projects but to inspire curiosity. We are designers, architects, researchers and makers, and at our core, we are craftsmen. We have curious minds and are passionate and rigorous about the process of making.

We take pride in delivering a quality design product. We understand material – both its expressive nature and its physical performance – as paramount to our design approach. At llLab, we develop conceptually rigorous and distinctive solutions, each adapted to a context and its users. We seek to provoke and inspire, as we engage design as a tool to improve social and cultural life.

With locations in Shanghai, Stuttgart, and Porto, llLab is an international architecture and design laboratory operating as a platform for experimentation, research, and craft. llLabis led by four partners: Hanxiao Liu, Luís Ricardo, David Correa and Taichi Kuma.

llLab founders Liu, Ricardo and Correa started their own practice after meeting at the German office haascookzemmrich STUDIO 2050 in Stuttgart, where they collaborated on various international projects in both practical and academic fields. Key projects include the Mercedes-Benz Cultural Center, the Fragrant Lake Residential District in Beijing, and the Guggenheim Helsinki Competition (in which the team’s entry became one of 6 shortlisted finalists, from the 1,715 submissions). In addition to their series of award-winning design projects, Liu, Ricardo, Correa and Kuma have also worked at SOM in New York, RCR Arquitectes in Barcelona, Kobayashi + Zedda Architects in Whitehorse, Canada, and Kuma & Associates Europe in Paris, France, respectively. A former Research Associate with the Insitute of Compuational Design (ICD), Correa is now Assistant Professor at the University of Waterloo School of Architecture in Canada.

llLab projects have been widely published in international press including Archdaily, FRAME, while their design research work has been featured at multiple international venues including the Keller Gallery at MIT Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the BOZAR Center for Fine Arts in Brussels among others.



No.22, Lane 506, Jian Guo West Road, Shanghai (former French Concession Area)

Stuttgart:   Urbanstrasse 80b 70182.



Taichi Kuma

Hanxiao Liu

Hanxiao Liu

Luis Ricardo

David Correa

Hanxiao Liu


haascookzemmrich STUDIO2050, Stuttgart, Germany.

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, New York, USA.

HSArchitects, Nanjing, China.

ABB Engineering Ltd. Robotics headquarter, Shanghai, China.

Control & Environmental Safety Engineering, Vancouver, Canada.

University of Pennsylvania – Master of Architecture and Certificate in Landscape Studies.

University of Britich Columbia Bachelor of Applied Science (Mechanical Engineering).

Luís Ricardo


haascookzemmrich STUDIO2050, Stuttgart, Germany.

WEEKENDER GmbH, Stuttgart, Germany.

Co-Founder ForStudio Architects.

RCR Arquitectes, Aranda Pigem Vilalta, Olot, Barcelona, Spain (Pritzker price 2017).

University of Oporto Faculty of Architecture – integrated Master in Architecture, FAUP

David Correa


Assistant Professor in Architecture – University of Waterloo, Canada.

haascookzemmrich STUDIO2050, Stuttgart, Germany.

Program Coordinator and Instructor- University of Stuttgart, Integrative Technologies and Architectural Design Research – ITECH MSc.

Research Associate – Institute for Computational Design and Fabrication, University of Stuttgart, Germany.

Sony Creative Center San Francisco, US.

Kobayashi and Zedda Architects, Whitehorse, Canada.

BrookMcIlroy and Pace Architects, Toronto, Canada.

University of Stuttgart, ICD – PhD

University of Calgary – Masters of Architecture.

Ryerson University – Bachelor in Architectural Science

Taichi Kuma


University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan.

Kuma & Associates Europe, Paris, France.

University of Tokyo – PhD course.

ITECH , University of Stuttgart -Master of Science.

ICD, University of Stuttgart – Guest PhD student.

University of Tokyo – Graduate School.

Fei Chen

Henry D’Ath

Wiebke Beyer

Kristin Schreiner

Yihui Zhao